Fireworks Rules In Gig Harbor
The City of Gig Harbor would like to keep our citizens informed of the updated fireworks regulations effecting the dates and hours of allowed discharge.
Fireworks will go on sale June 28th, 2017 but discharge is only allowed between the hours of 9:00am - 11:00pm on July 1-3 and 9:00am - midnight on July 4. Any discharge outside of these times is subject to a $1,000.00 fine per GHMC 8.20.150. Please be courteous and have a safe 4th of July.
Are Sky Lanterns Regulated in Washington?
There is a lot of misinformation around these mini air balloons that says sky lanterns are not regulated in Washington and encourages people to use them. But the State of Washington has codified laws regulating sky lantern use by adopting the 2015 International Fire Code. Currently adopted Fire Code states:International Fire Code Section 309.1.6.3 - Sky lanterns: A person shall not
release or cause to be released an untethered sky lantern.
Gig Harbor Police Department ask citizens to be safe and sane
The Gig Harbor Police Department asks for citizen’s voluntary compliance to the laws and ordinances pertaining to fireworks in the city limits for a safe and peaceful season. Following are the laws and ordinances governing the use of fireworks in the city limits of Gig Harbor.
Fireworks: "Fireworks" means any composition or device designed to produce a visible or audible effect by combustion, deflagration, or detonation, and which meets the definition of articles pyrotechnic or consumer fireworks or display fireworks. (RCW 70.77.126)
• Fireworks can be sold by properly licensed and permitted fireworks vendors each year starting at noon on June 28 and ending at noon on July 5. (GHMC 8.20.110 HOURS OF SALES - $1000 Infraction)
• Discharge is only allowed between the hours of 9:00am - 11:00pm on July 1-3 and 9:00am - midnight on July 4. (GHMC 8.20.150 USE OF FIREWORKS - $1000 Infraction)
• FIREWORKS STAND (GHMC 8.20.090 TEMPORARY STANDS – STANDARDS AND CONDITIONS - $1000 Infraction):
- Two unobstructed exits required
- Each temporary fireworks stand shall have an adult in attendance at all times. No child or children under the age of 18 years shall be allowed inside the employee area of any temporary fireworks stand.
• No licensee may sell any fireworks to any person under the age of sixteen. (RCW 70.77.515 – Gross Misdemeanor)
• All fireworks must include the “Safe and Sane” designation (except toy caps and sparklers). Items specifically prohibited: Firecrackers, skyrockets, salutes, chasers, and bottle rockets.
(GHMC 8.20.130 DANGEROUS FIREWORKS - $1000 Infraction)
• UNLAWFUL POSSESSION OF FIREWORKS: It is unlawful to possess any class or kind of fireworks in violation of this chapter (RCW 70.77.485). A violation of this section is:
(1) A misdemeanor if involving less than one pound of fireworks. Or (2) A gross misdemeanor if involving one pound or more of Fireworks
• Fireworks (“other raucous noises”) may not be ignited between the hours of 11:00 p.m. – 7:00 a.m. (GHMC 9.34.020 DISTURBANCE OF THE PEACE – Misdemeanor)
• Responsibility for any property damage or fires that result from use of fireworks. (RCW 9A.48.040 RECKLESS BURNING I (with damage) – Felony) or (RCW 9A.48.050 RECKLESS BURNING II (property in danger) – Gr. Misdemeanor)
• UNLAWFUL DISCHARGE OR USE OF FIREWORKS: It is unlawful for any person to discharge or use fireworks in a reckless manner which creates a substantial risk of death or serious physical injury to another person or damage to the property of another. A violation of this section is a gross misdemeanor (RCW 70.77.488).
• SEIZURE OF FIREWORKS: Any fireworks which are illegally sold, offered for sale, used, discharged, possessed, or transported in violation of the provisions of this chapter or the rules or regulations of the chief of the Washington state patrol,…, are subject to seizure … by state agencies or local governments having general law enforcement authority. (RCW 70.77.435)
For additional information or questions contact the Gig Harbor Police Department at (253) 851-2236.